Pope´s Chrism Mass

Pope´s Chrism Mass: Read full Homily

2015-04-02
Pope Francis celebrated Chrism Mass in St. Peter´s Basilica. In his  homily he focused on the fatigue priests experience from all the demands of  pastoral work. He then offered a few tips on how to overcome it.
¨Do you know how often I think about this weariness which all of you experience? The Pope asked. ¨I think about it and I pray about it, often, especially when I am tired myself.¨
READ FULL HOMILY
“My hand shall ever abide with him, my arms also shall strengthen him” (Ps 89:21).
11079672_969845139693757_1957728858502903514_nThis is what the Lord means when he says: “I have found David, my servant; with my holy oil I have anointed him” (v. 20). It is also what our Father thinks whenever he “encounters” a priest. And he goes on to say: “My faithfulness and my steadfast love shall be with him… He shall cry to me, ‘You are my Father, my God and the rock of my salvation”’ (vv. 24, 26).
It is good to enter with the Psalmist into this monologue of our God. He is talking about us, his priests, his pastors. But it is not really a monologue, since he is not the only one speaking. The Father says to Jesus: “Your friends, those who love you, can say to me in a particular way: ‘You are my Father’” (cf. Jn 14:21). If the Lord is so concerned about helping us, it is because he knows that the task of anointing his faithful people is demanding; it can tire us. We experience this in so many ways: from the ordinary fatigue brought on by our daily apostolate to the weariness of sickness, death and even martyrdom.  (more)  
Leave a Reply

