Palm Sunday homily

The CWR Blog

Pope Francis’ Palm Sunday homily [Full text]

“Who am I, before my Lord?” April 14, 2014 07:11 EST By Catherine Harmon
Pope Francis before the start of Palm Sunday Mass in St. Peter’s Square April 13.

Tens of thousands of people assembled in St. Peter’s Square for Pope Francis’ Palm Sunday Mass yesterday, many bearing traditional palms and olive branches. Below is the full text of Pope Francis’ Palm Sunday homily, translated from the original Italian by the Vatican Press Office.

***

This week begins with the festive procession with olive branches: the entire populace welcomes Jesus. The children and young people sing, praising Jesus.

But this week continues in the mystery of Jesus’ death and his resurrection. We have just listened to the Passion of our Lord. We might well ask ourselves just one question: Who am I? Who am I, before my Lord? Who am I, before Jesus who enters Jerusalem amid the enthusiasm of the crowd? Am I ready to express my joy, to praise him? Or do I stand back? Who am I, before the suffering Jesus?

Leave a Reply

