They come, they help …

Two groups of six students each from Bishop Ahr High School in Edison, NJ, spent a day volunteering at TASK – Trenton Area Soup Kitchen. S Cynthia Marie Babyak, campus minister and Mr. Harry Ziegler, associate principal, accompanied the groups on July 9 and 11.

 

Reflecting on their experience, the students said:

 

“Visiting Task was a humbling experience for me personally. It makes you realize and be thankful for the small things. Something as simple as food can be hard to get for others and I shouldn’t take it for granted.”

– Erin O’Connor, ’14

 

“I had a tremendous and eye-opening experience as a volunteer at TASK. The people were extremely grateful for the food and the smiles. It makes me appreciate everything that I have and the blessings that God has given me.”

– Carolin Zieton ’14

 

“Going to TASK was truly a blessing in disguise and very eye-opening. The experience of helping others by simply giving them food and seeing their smiles was extremely satisfying. It made me realize the blessings in my life and to be more appreciative of everything I have.”

– Erica Armstrong ’14

 

“I was overwhelmed by the sense of gratitude that was in the air at TASK. While driving back from the soup kitchen, all I could think about was how blessed I am. I am truly grateful and it means so much to me to be able to give back.”

-Tess DeBerry ’15

 

“I was so grateful that I volunteered for this event.  It made my heart warm inside when I saw the people’s faces when we provided them with lots of food. This place was very convenient for others that lived in this troubled neighborhood. I am very grateful for what I have in my life.”

– Matilda Jean Mercer ’16

 

“Seeing how grateful the people at TASK were for everyday things we take advantage of really warmed my heart and made me reconsider unnecessary what I would normally think of as important. I felt very blessed to be part of a community of helpful, giving people. I can’t wait to go back!”

-Jennie Soffing ’15

